Using Embedly the Quick and Dirty Way

The Embedly API allows developers to embed videos, images and rich media from 102 (and counting) services through one API. To me, it’s essentially a one-stop shop for getting oEmbed responses from just about every service that supports embedding rich media.

I know there are a few open source Ruby libraries that help you accomplish this kind of thing, but I’ve found that using Embedly in a quick and dirty fashion is really quite easy. Here’s an example that I’m using to embed videos on a new site I’m working on:

http://gist.github.com/454990?file=gistfile1.builder

http://gist.github.com/454990?file=gistfile2.builder

This uses rest-client and JSON. It’s about all I’ve needed so far.

I know I should be validating the provided URL against Embedly’s services API, but I haven’t gotten to that quite yet. I’ll whip up another post when I do, though.

Published by

Trevor Turk

A chess-playing machine of the late 18th century, promoted as an automaton but later proved a hoax.

One thought on “Using Embedly the Quick and Dirty Way”

Comments are closed.