Weekly Digest, 3-22-09

Trevor’s Links

Twitter OAuth Ruby Example

This is the first of what I hope to be several examples of using OAuth as a developer. Our OAuth server implementation is in open beta and I want to show an example of how to use it. As the implementation is still in beta, feedback is appreciated as you begin your integration. If all goes well I’ll post on using OAuth from other languages in the future.

The Great Rails Refactor

Yehuda Katz at Confreaks: MountainWest RubyConf 2009.

Google Reader hacks

I’ve come up with a system that seems to work for me on OS X, at least for extensive testing purposes…

smartly save stashes in git

I seem to be using stashing more and more, and I’ve found that seeing the stash list output looking like this isn’t very helpful…

3 Simple Guidelines for Contributing

I promise you that if you do these three things each time you contribute to a project, your changes will not only get pulled in faster, but you will become a more rounded and skilled programmer.

Timothy’s Links

I left a linux machine online with ssh open for a day. It dropped incoming login attempts after the username. These are the usernames tried. : reddit.com

I know it’s kind of weirdly meta and redundant to bookmark a reddit, but this one has a list of names that might be useful in creating a security policy for linux user names on Internet-facing boxes.

NSLU2 Debian Lenny Upgrade – solving the possible network problem

I’m bookmarking this because it taught me something I managed to not learn in spite of having had a slug on my home network for over a year now. To wit: if you bork your network setup, reboot your slug and find that you can no longer dial in with SSH, simply power it down, pull the USB drive you’re using as /, slot it up in another machine and edit your slug’s conf files in your favorite editor. Nice.

Published by

Trevor Turk

A chess-playing machine of the late 18th century, promoted as an automaton but later proved a hoax.